Wednesday, July 1, 2009

And the groundsman of the year is...

Yup, Cricket South Africa brought a bit of glitz and glamour to our beloved sport last night, in the form of their annual awards.

They actually do give out an award to best groundsman, as well as best umpire and best scorers association. How do you even get to be best scorer? Or more to the point, how many mistakes is the worst scorer's association making?

Another "huh?" award is the KFC Taste The Action Performance of the year. I would have thought Smith would be a shoo-in for any award named after a fast food, but JP Duminy bagged that particular "honour". No matter how great the performance, I'm not entirely sure I would ever want to be able to taste it.

Smith did however manage to grab the fittingly big awards - Cricketer Of The Year and Test Cricket Of The Year. I still would have gone with AB for the former, but I have no major complaints.

AB managed to grab ODI Player Of The Year and the Fans' Player Of The Year.

Duminy got T20 Player Of The Year and Roelof landed Newcomer Of The Year.

Lastly, Justin Ontong received Justin Ontong's Player Of The Year.

Full list of winners here


Post a Comment


The Commentary Position Copyright © 2009 BeepTheGeek is Designed by Gaganpreet Singh